Synergy
Setting up and managing our integration with Synergy practice management software from Total Synergy.
You must be a tiny+ Account Admin to set up a Synergy integration. Additionally, you must have an Administrator account in Synergy to connect the applications together.
The purpose of this document is to detail the integration between Synergy and tiny+.
This integration is intended for those customers using both systems to eliminate double data entry and ensure both systems hold the latest information about your projects, clients and contacts.
This documentation identifies how different records are synced between each system, which fields are kept in sync, and the direction of synchronisation.
The following table represents which types of records are kept in sync, and how information flows between the two systems.
Synergy
Sync direction
tiny+
Projects
<>
Projects
Contacts
<>
Companies
Personnel
<>
Contacts
Staff
>
Team Members

How does the integration work?

When enabled and given appropriate authorisation to access your Synergy account, tiny+ will periodically check with Synergy for new and updated records, and also will provide Synergy with changes made and new records in tiny+ for the same period.
Changes and additions in one system will be reflected in the other system typically within 1-4 minutes.

Initial setup using the Setup Wizard

This initial setup process may take you 5 minutes or up to a few hours, depending on the quantum of records in both tiny+ and Synergy which you need to initially sync. Please set aside some time to read these instructions carefully before proceeding.
Firstly, navigate to Account Settings -> Synergy.
Click sign in to Synergy, and log in with your Synergy credentials.
After you have successfully logged in and returned to tiny+, unless you have been advised not to, you should choose the Option 1: Setup Wizard to continue your integration setup.
On the next screen, you will be asked to synchronise your team members between Synergy and tiny+. Make sure that your user has been matched with your equivalent Synergy login in the table, then click Save and continue.
On the following screen, you'll be asked to synchronise your pipeline stages between tiny+ and Synergy. If you have not yet set up any pipeline stages in tiny+, you can simply click 'Save configuration'.
You should then be presented with a 'begin import' button.
Please note that depending on the number of projects/companies/contacts that tiny+ will be importing from Synergy these imports may take several hours. After you click 'begin import' you may safely navigate away from the import screen. You'll be notified by email when the import is complete.

Sync reference

Projects / Projects

    When enabled, all projects added in Synergy are automatically synced to tiny+.
    When enabled, all projects added in tiny+ are automatically synced to Synergy.
    It is possible to lock certain project statuses in tiny+ so they are not synced to Synergy.
    For existing project records in either system, manual sync tools are provided.

What fields are synced?

Changes made to synchronised fields in either system and reflected in the other system. Arrows in the table below indicate the direction of sync for each field.
Synergy
tiny+
Notes
Name
<>
Project Name
Status
<>
Project Status
Project #
>
Project Number
Synergy generates this number automatically. If you set a project number in tiny+, the number will be overridden by Synergy.
Client
<>*
Client Company
Once set, this field can only be edited by Synergy. It will be locked in tiny+.
Project Type
<>
Project Type
Make sure you set up your linked Project Types before activating your sync.
Project Manager
<>
Assigned To
The team member must be a user synced with a matching Synergy staff member. Otherwise the user will default to the user who activated the tiny+/Synergy integration.
Project Address
<>
Project Address
Total Fee
<>*
Fee Value
Once set, this field can only be edited by Synergy. It will be locked in tiny+. tiny+ will show the sum of all project stages fee values.
Scope
<>
Description
>
External URL
We automatically populate this field with a link to the project in Synergy.
* - initial sync can come from tiny+, after that only Synergy may change this field.

Companies / Contacts

    When enabled, all ‘Contacts’ added in Synergy are automatically added as Companies in tiny+.
    When enabled, all Companies added in tiny+ are automatically synced as ‘Contacts’ to Synergy.
    For existing company records in either system, manual sync tools are provided.

What fields are synced?

Changes made to synchronised fields in either system and reflected in the other system. Arrows in the table below indicate the direction of sync for each field.
Synergy
tiny+
Name
<>
Company Name
Office Address
<>
Physical Address
Email
<>
Email
Website
<>
Website
ABN
<>
ABN
Mobile
<>
Mobile
Phone
<>
Office Phone
Twitter
<>
Twitter
>
External URL
We automatically populate this field with a link to the company in Synergy.

Contacts / Personnel

    When enabled, all ‘Personnel’ added in Synergy are automatically added as ‘Contacts’ in tiny+.
    When enabled, all Contacts added in tiny+ are automatically synced as ‘Personnel’ to Synergy, as long as they have a related company that is also synced to Synergy.
    For existing contact records in either system, manual sync tools are provided.

What fields are synced?

Changes made to synchronised fields in either system and reflected in the other system. Arrows in the table below indicate the direction of sync for each field.
Synergy
tiny+
Notes
First Name
<>
Name
The first name and last name fields in Synergy and merged in tiny+, and vice versa.
Last Name
<>
Name
Phone
<>
Direct Telephone
Title
<>
Role
Email
<>
Email
Website
<>
Website
Mobile
<>
Mobile
Office Phone
<>
Office Phone
Twitter
<>
Twitter
Roles
>
Contact Roles
You can optionally turn on a sync of all the different project roles a contact has been assigned in Synergy to a tag collection in tiny+. This can be helpful for sorting and categorising your contacts. Turn this on in the Synergy Account Settings dashboard.
Parent Contact
<>
Related Company
If this field is blank in a contact added in tiny+, and/or the related company is not synced with Synergy, then the contact will not be synchronised from tiny+ to Synergy.
>
External URL
We automatically populate this field with a link to the contact in Synergy.

Team Members / Staff

    All ‘Staff’ added in Synergy are automatically added as Ghost Team Members in tiny+. Ghost team members are not able to log in and do not incur a fee to your account. Ghost team members can be activated in tiny+ manually at any time.
    No changes made to staff members are synchronised back to Synergy. Fields controlled by Synergy are greyed out in tiny+.
    For existing staff records in Synergy, manual sync tools are provided to connect these with tiny+ staff accounts. These can be used without enabling a continuous sync.

What fields are synced?

Changes made to synchronised fields in Synergy are reflected in tiny+. Arrows in the table below indicate the direction of sync for each field.
Synergy
tiny+
Notes
First
>
Name
The first name and last name fields in Synergy and merged in tiny+, and vice versa.
Last
>
Name
Email
>
Email Address
Work
>
Direct Phone
Mobile
>
Mobile
Job title
>
Title
>
External URL
We automatically populate this field with a link to the team member in Synergy.
Last modified 1yr ago